Leave a comment

The Count of Monte Cristo

Heads Up!!! For this review I put the synopsis at the end. Simply because I think it’s better to watch this anime without knowing the general plot. I decided to watch it like that & I’m so glad I made the decision. But, of course, it’s up to you. It’ll only work if you don’t know about the book either but if you did I advise you to read the synopsis

from hulu

My Thoughts

I loved this show. It was so addictive. I watched all 24 episodes in two days. I just couldn’t stop. Seriously. Gasp, it’s kinda like a soap opera. Alright, like get official (not). As i stated earlier this anime was just plain awesome. I sort of feel nostalgic thinking back to when I was watching it. Why was it so good? Simply because of the drama. All the drama and plot developments and suspense and twists…It just gets me going! Other than the plot there are more things to note, one being the art and animation. To sum it all up, it’s different and well…artsy. Quite frankly, it’s in a league of its own. I hadn’t seen anything like it and it stayed that way ever since. But to be honest, it turned me off at first-you get used to it. Secondly, you should note the music. It goes beyond it’s job of getting you into the mood, it makes you feel. It get’s you in tune with the characters’ thoughts and emotions. Outstanding. And lastly, the level of sophistication. There’s no mindless comedy, no moe characters, no fanservice,no BS. And it’s still entertaining. Kinda rare in the anime world, right?

The Good

Sophisticated yet brilliant. Maybe I’m  praising it too much. Haha. But it’s special after all.

The Bad

I sometimes felt dizzy during high tides. When I plot was in it’s rising action and climax there was just so much going on. If you’re not careful you could lose track of what’s going on

Additional

Alternate title is Gankutsuou. And don’t forget to hit the “Like” button!

Synopsis

Trying to escape his uneventful life, Albert, the son of a renowned general from Paris, makes a journey with his friend Franz. During his travels, he meets an immensely wealthy nobleman named The Count of Monte Cristo. Living in luxurious hotels, surrounded by beautiful women and strong bodyguards, the charming but enigmatic count fascinates Albert. Albert invites the count to join the high society of Paris. However, unknown to Albert, his father had once framed the count and took the Count’s fiancee as his own.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

